1-2-3 Victory for Audi at The 80th 24 Hours of Le Mans

Photos & Words: Mike Juergens & Josh Decker

Audi wins its historic 11th victory at the 24 Hours of Le Mans and also the first victory for a hybrid at Le Mans! 2012 also marks the 2nd time in a row since 2006 that an Audi has started on pole position. 2012 was also the 2nd time that Audi has entered 4 cars into the historic race. As always Audi’s Le Mans victory was hard fought and even with the weather on their side accidents were common by the end of the race 21 cars had retired included the two Toyota’s and the Delta Wing. Audi fought to the end with their fair share of trouble and 4 cars crossed the line together in the 1,2,3,5 spots.

1st #1 Audi R18 etron quattro – André Lotterer/Marcel Fässler/Benoît Tréluyer

2nd #2 Audi R18 etron quattro – Allan McNish/Rinaldo (Dindo) Capello/Tom Kristensen

3rd #4 Audi R18 ultra – Oliver Jarvis/Marco Bonanomi/Mike Rockenfeller

5th #3 Audi R18 ultra – Marc Gené/Romain Dumas/Loïc Duval